Nominations Open for Western States Horse Expo Hall of Fame

Western States Horse Expo 2013

“Since 2002 the Western States Horse Expo has maintained a tradition of inducting an individual or organization into its Hall of Fame,” states Miki Nelsen, owner and founder of the yearly event. This year’s date for the 15th annual Expo is June 7-9, 2013 at Cal Expo in Sacramento, California.

“Once again we are soliciting input from the people who support the Horse Expo, and ask that they send their nominations to me:,” Nelsen continues. “We strive to listen to what people want at the Expo, and this is a great way for everyone to voice their opinions about who deserves this award.”

The Western States Horse Expo Hall of Fame was created to honor a person (or organization) each year within the horse industry who maintains a worthy vision that has made a significant difference, and who contributes in a consistent way that benefits both horses and horsemen.

Last year the inductee into the Hall of Fame was the Western States Trail Foundation, the organization that hosts the world famous 100-mile endurance ride, the Tevis Cup. The Foundation is dedicated to keeping the 100 miles of trail maintained and open for perpetuity from near Truckee, California over the rugged Sierra Nevada Mountains to Auburn, California. “I really admire this organization and certainly have respect for this difficult trail. Thousands of people around the world have one goal with their horse: To finish the Tevis, which is touted as the toughest ride in the world,” comments Nelsen. Since 1955 the Western States Trail Foundation has diligently spent thousands of hours and an extraordinary amount of money to keep this trail open, which also includes working with a myriad of governmental agencies. They also maintain several staging areas along the 100 miles where everyone can ride their horses, including those not involved in endurance. “I was very pleased when this Foundation was nominated and received the Hall of Fame Award,” says Nelsen. “The stewardship of our horse trails is of major concern to everyone who appreciates riding on trails, especially in the wilderness.”

The Western States Horse Expo Hall of Fame recipients include the following:

2002   /  Frank Vessels

2003   /  Ray Hunt

2004   /  R. M. Miller, DVM

2005   /  No recipient

2006   /  Pat Parelli

2007   /  Linda Tellington-Jones

2008   /  Richard Shrake

2009   /  John Lyons

2010   /  No recipient

2011   /  Bob Avila

2012   /  Western States Trail Foundation

To submit your nomination for the Hall of Fame award, email Miki

The Western States Horse Expo Hall of Fame is awarded during the Magnificent Seven stock horse competition finals on Friday night, June 7 at the Horse Expo.

For more information about the Western States Horse Expo, visit

More from slohorse
Heaven Can Wait Equine Sanctuary Open House
Heaven Can Wait Equine Sanctuary for Healing and Learning, 6275 Cerros Pioneros...
Read More
0 replies on “Nominations Open for Western States Horse Expo Hall of Fame”